Nashville

NCynthia Nashvilleashville (second season, part 1)
It did not take long for me to be sucked into this series – a peep into the lives of country stars as they struggle with record companies, relationships and fame. The characters are likeable and not over the top. You also get to listen to some catchy country music. It’s off to the library to get my next fix of this series.

Link to library catalogue

Advertisements

The first third byWilliam Kostakis

The first third by Will KostakisLife is made up of three parts: in the first third of your life you’re embarrassed by your family; in the second, you make a family of your own; and in the end, you just embarrass the family you’ve made.

Seventeen year old Billy Tsiolkas has just received his grandmother Yiayia Filyo’s bucket list, which makes him realise that she will not be around forever to keep his family together. The list is nearly impossible to complete, and even more daunting with final exams, first kisses and a future in stand-up comedy interrupting most of his plans. Luckily for Billy, he has his best friend Sticks, (my favourite character) a growing friendship with Hayley and, to give him some invaluable advice, his grandmother… but for how long?

Find in library catalogue

Tracking north by Kerry McGinnis

Tracking NorthThis was a great Australian family story, the surprising strength of some characters and the happiness you can find when you discover where you are meant to be. The landscape of northern Queensland is described in detail and adds to the enjoyment of the story. The landscape flows over me and I could visualise it. The suspense/mystery side of the story could have been used to create more tension, but the focus of the story remains firmly on Kelly and her family coping after a tragedy.

Find in library catalogue

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas ‘Kill a fairie, fall in love with a fairie, then be forced to kill a faerie to keep that love.’ Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, nineteen year old Feyre discovers that her captor, Tamlin, is one of the immortal faeries who once ruled her world. As her feelings shift from hostility to desire, an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands and Fayre is forced to fight against the ancient curse or doom Tamlin and his world forever. You will be hooked by this first book in a sexy, dramatic new series. It has just the right balance of beauty and violence, perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin. Enjoy in hard copy or borrow from our library of ebooks.

Find in our library catalogue

Hounded by David Rosenfelt

Cynthia HoundedThis was a random pick from the library shelves – the cute dog on the cover drew me in. This is the 12th book in a series that I have not read any of the previous books. It did stand up very well to being read independently, but I will have to seek out others in the series as I am intrigued on how the cast of characters have all come together, as they are a diverse bunch. I liked the character of Andy Carpenter, he made me smile! The mystery kept me involved throughout the story – it was an easy read over a cold weekend. If you enjoy Sue Grafton’s series – this series will appeal to you as well.

Link to catalogue

A man called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Tracey RRL A man Called OveI loved this book because it conjured up a host of emotions in me. Reading about a grumpy, yet lovable, old man’s struggle to come to terms with the loss of his beloved wife who was the colour in his otherwise black and white world and his one man war against a wolrd that insisted on not following his rules made me feel sad, happy, angry, frustrated, annoyed, laugh out loud and giggle, but most of all it warmed my heart and left a smile on my face. This easy to read book with chapters that could be short stories in themselves left me feeling uplifted whilst wiping away a tear or two.

Link to library catalogue

Trash by Andy Mulligan

Trash by Andy Mulligan - SharonThis author has masterfully conjured in my mind the extreme poverty of three dumpsite friends, Raphael, Gardo and Rat. These three have found a lot of money but this isn’t why they are being cruelly hunted.  They soon find out who they can trust … friends or family?  Now a major film I am so glad I have read the book and allowed the author to weave the story in my mind before seeing a director’s perception.  A truly powerful story about unthinkable poverty and the hope and the sly determination of three young boys which affects everyone they meet. A must read for everyone!

Link to library catalogue

Everything I never told you by Celeste Ng

Amy Everything I never told youSet in the 70s, Everything I Never Told You is about a teenaged girl who has just died. Her American born Chinese father, blond mother, older brother and younger sister are left wondering what happened to her. I expected a psychological thriller, but it wasn’t so much about how Lydia died, but how life, love and happiness can so easily get off track. It’s about belonging, ambition, hope, frustration, longing, misunderstanding and the fragility of love and life.

Link to library catalogue