Sorcerer to the crown by Zen Cho

amy-sorcerer-to-the-crownSorcerer to the Crown is a lush, vibrant, imaginative and thoroughly delightful tale. Zacharias Wythe is the Sorcerer Royal in Regency London. As a freed, African slave, he is not well liked and has much to worry him when he meets Prunella Gentleman, who, full of magical ability when it was suppressed in women, turns his, and everyone else’s, world inside out. Engaging characters, a clever plot and just the right amount of humour and romance, I really loved this book.

Find in library

Save

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley

amy-stilettoI really love this series; I do hope there will be more! This time, Myfanwy Thomas is not the main focus, but she is still awesome, bringing together two secret organisations that traditionally hate each other. We follow two new characters, one from each organisation, through supernatural and scientific shenanigans, always with humour and imaginative detail. The London setting, the wild and wonderful powers, the tough women and the humour make this such a fun read.

Find in library

Save

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red-queen-by-victoria-aveyardSeventeen-year-old Mare Barrow’s world is divided by the colour of blood with Red bloods of Norta dominated by the gifted Silver- blooded elite. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until her fate becomes entwined with the Silver’s royal court. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything to help the growing Red rebellion of the Scarlet Guard. A book of loyalty and betrayal, power and revenge, desire and hatred all skilfully woven into this fast-paced, compelling fantasy by debut author Victoria Aveyard.

Find in library

A great and terrible beauty by Libba Bray

Amy A Great and Terrible BeautyI was on the verge of abandoning this book, it really didn’t hold me, but I kept going just in case. After beginning in India, it is set in Victorian England where Gemma Doyle has been sent to a stuffy finishing school after her mother’s mysterious death. Gemma and her friends discover a way into a different realm and struggle with that power, and the evil that awaits. It wasn’t quite convincingly Victorian, or English, enough for me; the girls were too modern, but the real problem was that I didn’t find the plot that exciting. Plenty of nasty girls and angst plus a little bit of mystery, magic and steamy dreaming. I’ll give the rest a miss.

Find in library catalogue

The books of beginning by John Stephens

Books of beginning by John StephensReminiscent of the many fantasy novels this trilogy is another enjoyable read. It starts with The Emerald Atlas on a snowy winter’s night, when three small children are chased from their home by the forces of a merciless darkness. Thus begins the first stage of a journey that will take Kate, Michael, and Emma from orphanage to orphanage and through time to dangerous and secret corners of the world…a journey of friends and foe and of magic and chaos.  And—if an ancient prophecy is correct—what they do can change history.  A fast paced adventure for readers 10 years and older. If you like The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis and His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman you will like this trilogy.

Link to library catalogue

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas ‘Kill a fairie, fall in love with a fairie, then be forced to kill a faerie to keep that love.’ Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, nineteen year old Feyre discovers that her captor, Tamlin, is one of the immortal faeries who once ruled her world. As her feelings shift from hostility to desire, an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands and Fayre is forced to fight against the ancient curse or doom Tamlin and his world forever. You will be hooked by this first book in a sexy, dramatic new series. It has just the right balance of beauty and violence, perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin. Enjoy in hard copy or borrow from our library of ebooks.

Find in our library catalogue

Half bad trilogy by Sally Green

Half life trilogyUnputdownable!
Half Bad is Sally Green’s very first novel and I was totally immersed. Nathan Byrn is 16 and lives in a cage. Set apart by the secret society of witches of contemporary Britain, Nathan faces alienation, survival and sacrifice in this supernatural thriller. From my perspective of this story, it is hard to sort the good witches from the evil as both sides do unforgivable things. These witches are divided by hatred of each other but united by the fear of a boy born of both sides – ‘wanted by no one; hunted by everyone’.
Continue reading

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles - Cinder by Marissa MeyerThe familiarity of a fairy tale with a sci-fi twist.

Introducing Cinder. A teen who has no memories of life before her third year yet she carries with her the evidence of traumatic injuries… cyborg limbs! With no known living relatives, Cinder is the property of her stepmother and works skilfully at mechanical repairs trying to meet the living expenses of her stepmother and two stepsisters. Her little stepsister is her only joy, but, while Cinder seems to be immune, Peony succumbs to the mysterious illness sweeping across the country. Can Cinder save Peony from inevitable death? Will we discover the truth about Cinder’s past? Continue reading