The accidental aid worker by Sue Liu

WendyA very powerful and emotional journey was imparted by reading Sue’s memoirs. From her growing years to how she became involved with Voluntary Aid Work in Sri Lanka after the 2004 tsunami and during the civil war conflict, and then spreading her generosity to help orphaned children in Cambodia.   I felt very connected with the author through the sharing of the highs and lows of her life experiences during those ten years.

There were occasions where emotions flared inside me, so real, that I felt I was travelling on the same journey with Sue.  The book reminded me, of how too often we give so much of ourselves to others, that we forget to look after ourselves.  It was also a reminder that as we grow older we realise that events of our childhood and teenage years, make and can cloud who we become – there comes a time in our life when we need to let go of the childhood and teenage baggage and to move on with our life and think of ourselves and enjoy the present.

This is Sue’s first book and I hope it won’t be the last –  I wish Sue all the very best, such a dedicated, selfless, beautiful person, who has given so much to so many.

Link to catalogue

