All the bright places

Amy all the bright places

Just today I said that I don’t suffer book hangovers after finishing a great book. I certainly don’t have trouble getting into new books, but I think that having recently finished the brilliant and powerful A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, my ability to be moved by a YA book on a similar topic is dramatically reduced. I enjoyed All the Bright Things, and think that mental illness and suicide are important issues for YA fiction to address, but I didn’t love Finch or Violet enough for my heart to hurt over them. It is still a sweet story about a quirky, troubled teen and his relationship with a popular but grieving girl, and their quest to find joy in living. If I read it at a different time, I may have liked it more.

Link to catalogue

